Welcome

 

In 1927 the architects Le Corbusier and Pierre Jeanneret designed two semidetached houses for an exhibition entitled Die Wohnung (The Dwelling) for the Deutscher Werkbund. This building has been the location of the Weissenhof Museum since 2006. It is the only building in the Weissenhof Estate that is open to visitors. In 2016 the building became listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site along with the neighboring single-family dwelling by Le Corbusier.

Visiting the Exhibition

Both halves of the former residential building, each of which have been given different focuses, can be viewed during the visit.

The history of the Weissenhof Estate is presented in the left half of the building, including its seventeen architects with models, photographs, plans, and various objects. The exhibition is organized chronologically and spans the period from 1907, when the Deutscher Werkbund was founded, to 2006, when the museum was opened. The museum design is based on the original floorplan.

Visitors can experience Le Corbusier’s design of a “transformable dwelling” from 1927 in the right half of the building. The restored floorplan, the changeable space, the furniture, and the color schemes are based on historic sources and the results of conservational studies.

 

 

 

 

 

 

How the Museum Was Created

Following the Werkbund exhibition, the buildings at the Weissenhof Estate were rented out by the city of Stuttgart. In 1928 Anton Kolig, an art professor, moved into the two semidetached houses by Le Corbusier. Other tenants followed, including many alterations and changes. The German Reich bought the estate in 1939 with the intention of tearing it down, but this was prevented by the beginning of World War II. The apartments continued to be rented out, even when the federal government of Germany took over the property at the end of the war. Following a long period of neglect, the estate was extensively restored in the 1980s, during which the right half of the Le Corbusier two semidetached houses were restored inside to a state that was “similar to the original.”
It was not until 2002 that the city of Stuttgart was given the opportunity to buy Le Corbusier’s two semidetached houses and make it into a museum. Together with the Wüstenrot Stiftung and their historic conservation board, the building was painstakingly restored following extensive studies. The city of Stuttgart then developed a museum concept and provided furniture and display objects. Weissenhof Museum opened its doors to the public on October 26, 2006.

Willkommen

 

1927 bauen die Architekten Le Corbusier und Pierre Jeanneret für die Werkbundausstellung „Die Wohnung“ ein Doppelwohnhaus. Seit 2006 befindet sich darin das Weissenhofmuseum. Es steht den Besuchern als einzig zugängliches Haus der Weissenhofsiedlung offen. 2016 wird das Gebäude zusammen mit dem benachbarten Einfamilienhaus Le Corbusiers zum UNESCO Welterbe ernannt.

Ausstellungsrundgang

Der Rundgang im Weissenhofmuseum führt durch zwei Haushälften, die unterschiedlichen Schwerpunkten gewidmet sind.

In der linken Haushälfte werden die Entstehung und die Geschichte der Weissenhofsiedlung sowie ihre 17 Architekten mit Modellen, Fotos, Plänen und verschiedenen Ausstellungsobjekten vorgestellt. Der Rundgang in der Ausstellung ist chronologisch geordnet und umfasst den Zeitraum von 1907 (Gründung des Deutschen Werkbunds) bis 2006 (Museumseröffnung). Die Museumsgestaltung erinnert an den ursprünglichen Grundriss.

In der rechten Doppelhaushälfte ist Le Corbusiers Entwurf eines „transformablen Hauses“ von 1927 zu erleben. Grundlage für den wiederhergestellten Grundriss, den wandelbaren Wohnraum, die Möblierung und die Farbgebung sind historische Quellen, die mit restauratorischen Befunden abgeglichen werden.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wie das Museum entstand

Nach Ende der Werkbundausstellung werden die Häuser der Weissenhofsiedlung von der Stadt Stuttgart vermietet. In das Doppelhaus von Le Corbusier zieht 1928 der Kunstprofessor Anton Kolig ein. Weitere Mieter folgen, ebenso zahlreiche Umbauten und Veränderungen. Das Deutsche Reich kauft 1939 die Siedlung und will das ganze Areal abreißen, was durch den Ausbruch des Zweiten Weltkriegs verhindert wird. Die Wohnungen werden weiterhin vermietet, auch als die Bundesrepublik Deutschland die Liegenschaft nach Kriegsende übernimmt. Nach langer Vernachlässigung folgt in den 1980er Jahren eine große Sanierung der Siedlung, bei der die rechte Hälfte des Doppelhauses von Le Corbusier im Inneren „original-ähnlich“ wiederhergestellt wird.

Erst 2002 erhält die Stadt Stuttgart die Möglichkeit, das Doppelhaus von Le Corbusier zurückzukaufen und als Museum einzurichten. Zusammen mit der Wüstenrot Stiftung und deren denkmalpflegerischen Beirat wird das Gebäude nach sorgfältiger Recherche aufwändig restauriert und wiederhergestellt. Die Stadt Stuttgart lässt ein Museumskonzept erarbeiten und besorgt die Einrichtung mit Möbeln und Exponaten. Am 26. Oktober 2006 öffnet das Weissenhofmuseum seine Türen für die Öffentlichkeit.